

Press Release

102 S. Hickory Avenue, Bel Air, Maryland 21014 • Jillian V. Lader, Manager of Communications Office: 410-588-5203 • Jillian.Lader@hcps.org • www.hcps.org • Fax: 410-893-2478

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

February 26, 2025

HCPS Announces Finalists for 2025 Celebration of Excellence in Education

Harford County Public Schools (HCPS) is proud to announce the finalists for all areas being honored at the 2025 Celebration of Excellence in Education. These areas include leadership, facilities, food and nutrition, technology, educational support professionals, and custodians. Members of our Transportation Department will also be honored, including two general education bus drivers, two special education bus drivers, and two special needs bus attendants. The Transportation Department finalists will be selected and announced at a later date.

Each nomination was carefully reviewed and scored by a judging panel to determine the finalists.

Here are the finalists of each award, in alphabetical order:

Teacher of the Year

- 1. Wendy Feight, Health Teacher, North Harford Middle School
- 2. Haejung Kim, Science Teacher, Joppatowne High School
- 3. Shelby Morris, Special Education Teacher, Havre de Grace Elementary School
- 4. Kathryn Veet, Kindergarten Teacher, Darlington Elementary School
- 5. Nicole Young, Mathematics Teacher, Southampton Middle School

Principal

- 1. Karen Jankowiak, Hall's Cross Roads Elementary School
- 2. Christian Slattery, Jarrettsville Elementary School
- 3. Melissa Williams, Joppatowne High School

Assistant Principal

- 1. Lisamarie Bermudez, Edgewood High School
- 2. John Siemsen, C. Milton Wright High School
- 3. Daniel Zubrowski, Magnolia Elementary School

Educational Support Professional

- 1. Kristine Flatau, Media Technician, Aberdeen High School
- 2. Megan Houston, Paraeducator, Forest Lakes Elementary School
- 3. Chiwy Webster, Administrative Support Assistant, Edgewood High School

Food and Nutrition

- 1. William Ford, Distribution Associate, Forest Hill Annex
- 2. Tina Parker, General Worker, Magnolia Middle School
- 3. Tammy Wilson, Satellite Kitchen Assistant, Roye-Williams Elementary School

Facilities

- 1. Arthur Novotny, Roofing Crew Chief
- 2. Edward Rickmers, Environmental Compliance Assistant
- 3. Ralph Williams, Automated Building Systems Technician

Technology

- 1. Jack Getz, Senior Software Developer
- 2. Christopher Long, Client Administrator
- 3. Jeffrey Norris, Technology Systems Integrator

Custodian

- 1. Christopher Beck, Chief Custodian, Forest Lakes Elementary School
- 2. Tunisia Gannon, Chief Custodian, Emmorton Elementary School
- 3. James Sexton, Custodian II, Edgewood High School

A surprise announcement for each award winner will take place at the Celebration of Excellence in Education event, scheduled for April 8, 2025.

###