Board of Education Notice of Public Participation LEARN MORE

Home - Harford County Public Schools

Board of Education of Harford County

A.A. Roberty Building
102 S. Hickory Avenue, Bel Air, Maryland 21014
Telephone: 410-838-7300 FAX: 410-638-4051
Customer Action Line (24 hours): 410-638-0022
Web Site:


MondayAugust 222022

Board Open Session: 5:45 PM - Board Room
Board Closed Session: 5:50 PM - Board Executive Conference Room
Board Business Meeting: 6:30 PM - Board Room
*Times are approximate
6:30 PM
Call to Order: Board President
Quorum Roll Call
Adoption of Agenda
Pledge of Allegiance

Swearing-In Ceremony:  2022-2023 Student Board Member, Noa S. Blanken, North Harford High School

6:45 PM A.

Board Member Comments

7:00 PM B.

Public Comments

7:45 PM C.

Consent Agenda


Monthly Personnel Report - July 2022


Contract Award:  Custodial Cleaning Supplies and Equipment


Contract Award:  VxRail Servers Purchase


Contract Award:  Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning Filters


Contract Award:  Amendment for Copiers


Contract Award:  Athletic Uniforms and Apparel


Contract Award:  Replacement of the Fire Alarm Systems at Bel Air Middle School and Fountain Green Elementary School


Contract Award:  Florida Virtual School Student Seat Licenses


Contract Award:  Health and Safety, Medical, Surgical, and First Aid Related Equipment, Supplies, Accessories and Services


Contract Award:  Nearpod Subscription


Contract Award:  New Bus Contractor


Food Services:  Price Changes for 2022-2023 School Year


Appointment of Negotiation Teams:  2022-2023 School Year


Appointment of 2023-2024 Calendar Committee Members


Appointment of Harford County Public Schools Representative to The Harford Center Board of Directors


Minutes of Previous Board Meeting:  July 18, 2022

7:50 PM D.

Decision on Administrative and Supervisory Appointments, Mr. Ben Richardson, Assistant Superintendent for Human Resources

8:00 PM E.

Decision on Proposed Revisions to Board Policy 02-0056-000, Homework, John E. Burke, Esq., Deputy General Counsel, and Dr. Peter Carpenter, Director of Organizational Development and Continuous Learning

8:15 PM F.

Decision on Proposed, Revised, Renaming of Board Policy 04-023-000, Report Cards and Marking Systems, John E. Burke, Esq., Deputy General Counsel and Mr. Phil Snyder, Supervisor of Accountability

8:30 PM G.

Decision on Proposed Revisions to Board Policy 22-0008-000, Public Participation at Board Open Meetings or Public Hearings, John E. Burke, Esq., Deputy General Counsel

8:45 PM H.

Presentation of FY 2024 Capital Improvement Program, Mr. Cornell Brown, Assistant Superintendent for Operations, Ms. Patti Jo Beard, Executive Director of Facilities Management, Mr. Chris Morton, Supervisor of Planning and Construction, Ms. Missy Valentino, Facilities Planner

9:05 PM I.

Presentation of Academic Summer Learning Programs 2022, Ms. Heather Kutcher, Director of Curriculum, Instruction and Assessment

9:25 PM J.

Presentation on Proposed Athletic Changes, Mr. Mike O'Brien, Executive Director of Middle & High School Performance - Secondary, and Ms. Deborah Basler, Supervisor of Physical Education and Health - Secondary

9:40 PM K.
Superintendent's Report
9:50 PM
Future Meetings Review

Date Time Place Event
MondaySeptember 122022 6:30 PM Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty Building, Board Room Board Business Meeting
MondaySeptember 122022 5:30PM Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty Building, Board Room Board Open Session
MondaySeptember 192022 6:30 PM Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty Building, Board Room Board Business Meeting
MondaySeptember 192022 5:45 PM Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty Building, Board Room Board Open Session
MondayOctober 102022 6:30 PM Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty Building, Board Room Board Business Meeting
MondayOctober 242022 6:30 PM Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty Building, Board Room Board Business Meeting

To request disability-related reasonable accommodations, please call 410-838-7300 voice, 7-1-1 TTY or e-mail at least three days prior to the meeting/event. This document is available in alternative form upon request.
The Harford County Public School system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, disability, or age in employment or programs or activities and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. Inquiries regarding HCPS non-discrimination policies should be directed to Paula Stanton, Manager of Equity and Cultural Proficiency, 410-809-6065.

Harford County Board of Education Strategic Plan:
Goal 1: Prepare every student for success in postsecondary education and career.
Goal 2: Engage families and the community to be partners in the education of our students.
Goal 3: Hire and support highly effective staff who are committed to building their own professional capacity in order to increase student achievement.
Goal 4: Provide safe, secure, and healthy learning environments that are conducive to effective teaching and learning, creativity and innovation.
Board business meetings are recorded and aired by Harford Cable Network
Dr. Sean W. BulsonSuperintendent of Schools and Secretary-Treasurer
Rachel Gauthier, President Elected Member, Councilmanic District E
Dr. Carol L. Mueller, Vice-President, County Council Appointed Member, District C
Dr. David Bauer, Elected Member, Councilmanic District B
Dr. Joyce Herold, Appointed Member-at-Large
Sonja Karwacki, Elected Member, Councilmanic District F
Ariane G. Kelly , Appointed Member, Councilmanic District D
Dr. Roy Phillips, Appointed Member-at-Large
Patrice J. Ricciardi, Appointed Member-at-Large
Jansen M. Robinson, Elected Member, Councilmanic District A
Noa S. BlankenStudent Board Member
Yvonne RalloBoard of Education Administrative Support Coordinator